Top Remains Unchanged in New Cabinet

The Cabinet nominees vetted by Parliament today contain several common names that have characterized the National Resistance Movement -NRM- for a long time.

Despite new faces, there are indications that the full cabinet posts will remain fairly the same. With the return of Eriya Kategaya, to join Amama Mbabazi, John Nasasira, Geraldine Namirembe Bitamazire, Henry Kajura, Janat Mukwaya, and Khiddu Makubuya, the new Cabinet chat will have few replacements at the top.

Ruhakana Rugunda, Sam Kutesa Kahinda Otafiire and Daudi Migereko as well as Tarsis Kabwegyere are among the old returnees whose Cabinet tenure has been undoubted.

There are only four changes at the top.

The most significant drop-out is that of the two generals, Moses Ali and Jim Muhwezi. The other two are Betty Aketch who also lost her constituency as Gulu Woman MP and Zoe Bakoko Bakoru, accused of mishandling the National Social Security Fund. She also lost her constituency seat of Ayivu county in Arua district.

Other long serving ministers returned include Tom Butime and Peter Loeris.