Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /usr/www/users/urnnet/a/story.php on line 43
Vipers, Police to Clash in First Uganda Cup Semifinal :: Uganda Radionetwork

Vipers, Police to Clash in First Uganda Cup Semifinal

Vipers team. Courtsey Picture

Audio 1

Sports Club Vipers will face Uganda Police FC tomorrow in the first semifinal of the Stanbic Uganda Cup at the FUFA Technical Center in Njeru. 

The two clubs have had over a month to prepare for the match. FUFA had earlier confirmed 19th August for the first semifinal, however it was later postponed to give the national team more time to prepare ahead of the FIFA World Cup 2022 qualifiers matches against Kenya and Mali.

Police FC Head coach Abdallah Mubiru said although they have not had enough time to prepare for the game, he believes his players are in good condition to take on SC Vipers. 

//Cue in: After everything that …

Cue out: … fans to celebrated.”//

The will be the first competitive game for Vipers’ newly appointed coach  Roberto Oliviera. While talking to Journalists today at the FUFA House in Mengo, Vipers assistant coach Marcelo Cardoso said the team is ready for the challenge.

“After three weeks of work, we are happy and set for the encounter against Police FC. Players are working very hard and there is improvement thus everything is going according to our plans. Police is a traditional club with high expectations thus we expect a good show, " said Cardoso.

Traditionally, the champions of Uganda Cup qualify to represent Uganda in the CAF Confederations Cup.

However, FUFA already picked URA FC to represent Uganda in the continental tournament before the completion of the tournament that was disrupted by the lockdown announced to contain the second wave of COVID-19. 

The second semifinal will take place on 23rd September 2021 at FUFA Technical center in between Bidco FC and Uganda Premier League reigning champions Express FC.

Proline FC are the defending champions of Uganda Cup after winning the 2018/19 championship when they beat Bright Stars FC. Express FC and KCCA FC are the record winners of the competition with 10 titles each, while SC Villa have won the trophy nine trophies.

Support us

Images 1